Department of Health Policy and Management

2 UCLA HPM students receive The David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship 2016!

WASHINGTON, DC – The David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship is proud to announce the 2016 David A. Winston Policy Scholars, selected on May 3, 2016.

The objective of the Scholarship Program is to increase the number and quality of individuals trained in healthcare policy at the state and federal level by awarding deserving health policy students financial support to further their education. The Fellowship commemorates the contributions and personal qualities of David A. Winston who, for 20 years, played a significant role in shaping the role of health policy in America. The Program recognizes student excellence and achievement based upon the student’s record and recommendations from faculty and colleagues and evidence of their interest in and commitment to health policy. Ten $10,000 scholarships are offered to students who demonstrate their potential to succeed in health policy at the state or federal level upon graduation from their master’s degree program in health policy or management. The 2-day health policy symposium, held each fall, is one feature of the Scholars’ year.

Recipients of the 2016 Scholarship are:

Michael Budros, University of Michigan
Robert Franceschini, University of Washington 
Danielle Goetter, Rush University 
Ashley Hill, University of Michigan 
Haleigh Mager-Mardeusz, UCLA 
Neil McCray, George Mason University 
Yamilett Medrano, USC 
Sophie Morse, Johns Hopkins 
Jeannette Reynaga, UCLA 
Sojourner Rivers, Columbia University

 “We are very excited to introduce another group of outstanding health policy scholars to the national health policy discussion. We are confident that each of these individuals from nine excellent graduate health policy programs will soon take their place as important contributors to the national health policy debate. We look forward to working with them now and in the future.” – David S. Abernethy, Managing Director, David A. Winston Health Policy Fellowship

For more information on the David A. Winston Health Policy Scholarship, its history and application process, please visit